The Outstanding Senior Award is presented to a graduating senior for outstanding student leadership, academic achievement, extraordinary service to the College, and demonstrated potential as an alumni leader. The recipient of this award serves as an example for their peers and all alumni by demonstrating service, loyalty, commitment to the College, the Alumni Association, and their community.

Up to two recipients may be selected annually. This award may be bestowed at the discretion of the HEAA Awards Committee.

Description and Eligibility

  • demonstrates exceptional leadership skills
  • embraces the mission and values of the College in both academic and extracurricular activities
  • has a special enthusiasm for, and extraordinary interest in being an ambassador for the college
  • understands "the big picture" of the college and university community that extends out to its alumni
  • has a working knowledge of alumni engagement and has participated in alumni outreach
  • has taken an active role in support of alumni/student connections
  1. The nomination cycle for the Outstanding Senior Award is November 1 - December 1 of every year.
  2. Nomination letters of support by faculty and staff must be submitted to the Human Ecology Alumni Affairs and Development office by 5 pm on December 1 to be considered.
  3. Once the nomination letter(s) of support are received, the nominated students will be contacted by the Human Ecology Alumni Affairs and Development office and will be asked to complete and submit an official nomination form.
  4. Each nomination may also include the nominee's resume or curriculum vitae.
  5. Incomplete nominations will not be considered by the Awards Committee.

Presentation will be made at the Senior Celebration hosted by the Dean’s Advisory Council which takes place in April. It is preferred that the recipient attend this ceremony in person to receive this award.

2020 Honorable Mentions: Caitlin Bowen, Alexandria Dominguez, Chiamaka Ijebuonwu, Gabrielle Kubi, Simran Malhotra and Hayley Striegel

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Senior Award:

2019 Nicole Agaronnick '19 2014 Julie Ewing '14
2018 Julia Lesnick '18 2013 Emily Lopes '13
2017 Lindsay Dower '17 and Angel Khuu '17 2012 Gilad Meron '12
2016 Eric Beaudette '16 and Nicole Cember '16 2011 Ashley Jeanlus '11
2015 Winnie Huang '15 and  Sara Hachey '15 2010 Eric Zember '10